(Los Angeles, CA – July 19, 2022) – The Critics Choice Association (CCA) announced today the dates for upcoming awards shows and celebrations including the 28th annual Critics Choice Awards, the 7th annual Critics Choice Documentary Awards, and the three Critics Choice Association’s Celebrations. The Celebrations include the 5th annual Celebration of Black Cinema & Television, the 2nd annual Celebration of Latino Cinema & Television, and the inaugural Celebration of Asian Pacific Cinema & Television.

The 28th annual Critics Choice Awards will return to the Fairmont Century Plaza Hotel in Los Angeles on Sunday, January 15, 2023, airing live on The CW from 7:00 – 10:00 pm ET (delayed PT – check local listings). The show will continue its combined film and television awards format honoring the best in cinematic, televised, and streaming achievement. Historically, the Critics Choice Awards are the most accurate predictor of Academy Award nominations. Bob Bain will serve as the Executive Producer.

The 7th annual Critics Choice Documentary Awards are set for November 13, 2022 at a new and larger venue this year, the Edison Ballroom in Manhattan. The deadline for submissions is September 16, 2022; nominations will be announced on October 17, 2022. Last year’s winners included Summer of Soul (…Or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised)The Rescue, Val, The Crime of the Century, Becoming Cousteau, The Alpinist, and The Queen of Basketball. Bob Bain will serve as the Executive Producer.

The 5th annual Celebration of Black Cinema & Television will be held December 5, 2022 at the Fairmont Century Plaza Hotel. Last year’s honorees included Halle Berry, Anthony Anderson, Jennifer Hudson, Barry Jenkins, Ava DuVernay, Idris Elba, Regina King, Jonathan Majors, Danielle Brooks, Robin Thede and Kenan Thompson. Critics Choice Association Board Member Shawn Edwards serves as the Executive Producer/Co-Writer of the Celebration of Black Cinema & Television.

The 2nd annual Celebration of Latino Cinema & Television will hold its first in-person ceremony at the Fairmont Century Plaza Hotel on November 13, 2022, following the success of last year’s virtual event. The 2021 inaugural celebration honored Rita Moreno, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Demián Bichir, Gloria Estefan, Reinaldo Marcus Green, Clifton Collins Jr., Eugenio Derbez and Olga Merediz. This year’s event has expanded to include television honorees, in addition to film awardees. Critics Choice Association Board Member Clayton Davis will serve as the Co-Programmer/Co-Writer for the Celebration of Latino Cinema & Television.

The inaugural Celebration of Asian Pacific Cinema & Television will debut on November 4, 2022 at the Fairmont Century Plaza Hotel. With noteworthy performances in projects such as Everything Everywhere All at Once, Turning Red, Squid Game, Pachinko, Never Have I Ever, Station Eleven, and many more, there has never been a better time to launch the inaugural Celebration of Asian Pacific Cinema & Television. Critics Choice Association member Kylie Mar will serve as the Co-Programmer/Co-Writer for the event.

Each of the three Celebrations will be produced by Madelyn Hammond and Javier Infante of Madelyn Hammond & Associates.

“It truly is an embarrassment of riches,” said CCA CEO Joey Berlin. “We’re thrilled the Critics Choice Awards is returning to its original January date on The CW and has become more popular than ever before. Our Documentary Awards receives more and more submissions every year. And as the CCA membership has grown over the last year and become even more diverse, it gives us great pleasure to respond accordingly with the expansion of our portfolio of events. The addition of our inaugural Celebration of Asian Pacific Cinema & Television along with the success of last year’s first Celebration of Latino Cinema and the 5th year milestone of our Celebration of Black Cinema & Television allows us to continue honoring the finest achievements in front of and behind the camera, and shine a light on underrepresented and underappreciated storytellers.”

Event logos can be found HERE.

Follow the 28th annual Critics Choice Awards on Twitter and Instagram @CriticsChoice and on Facebook/CriticsChoiceAwards. Join the conversation using #CriticsChoiceAwards.

About the Critics Choice Association (CCA) 

The Critics Choice Association is the largest critics organization in the United States and Canada, representing more than 580 media critics and entertainment journalists. It was established in 2019 with the formal merger of the Broadcast Film Critics Association and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association, recognizing the intersection between film, television, and streaming content. For more information, visit: 


About The CW

THE CW TELEVISION NETWORK launched in 2006 as America’s fifth broadcast network, with programming targeting younger viewers, a demographic highly sought after by advertisers. The CW, a joint venture between Warner Bros. Entertainment and CBS Corporation, now broadcasts across the week, offering fourteen hours of primetime programming, Monday through Sunday, beginning in Fall 2021. The CW’s primetime programming is also available to stream for free, without authentication, on the ad-supported CWTV.com and The CW app, now available on every major OTT platform. Additionally, The CW broadcasts a three-hour Saturday morning kids block. The CW’s digital network CW Seed launched in 2013 and offers original short-form digital content as well as past seasons of fan-favorite television series. For more information about the network and its programming, visit www.cwtvpr.com.


Andy Gelb / Julia Rossen



[email protected] / [email protected] 

Jodi Karp

The CW Network


[email protected]