Critics Choice Association and NPACT announce Fourth Annual Critics Choice Real TV Awards


Winners of Awards Honoring Nonfiction and Reality Content to be Revealed at In-Person Ceremony and Awards Gala Taking Place June 12 at the Fairmont Century Plaza

Submissions Open February 21

(Feb. 18, 2022) – LOS ANGELES – The Critics Choice Association (CCA) and nonfiction producers’ organization NPACT today announced submissions will open February 21 for the fourth annual Critics Choice Real TV Awards, which returns to an in-person ceremony and gala to take place June 12 at the Fairmont Century Plaza in Los Angeles.

Submissions will be accepted through April 29, with nominations to be announced May 16.  

2022 Schedule:

Bob Bain and Joey Berlin will serve as Executive Producers. NPACT General Manager Michelle Van Kempen also executive produces. 

Said Van Kempen, “The last two years have required unprecedented ingenuity and creativity from nonfiction producers who led the industry in rising to the challenge – creating and safely producing exceptional content that continues to proliferate across streamers and networks. We are thrilled that our annual celebration can return in earnest, and we look forward to honoring the outstanding stories and storytellers of unscripted.”

Added Berlin, “We are excited to present the 4th annual Critics Choice Real TV Awards as an in-person live event at the landmark Fairmont Century Plaza this year to honor the finest work in nonfiction, unscripted and reality television. These shows and performers have brought such joy and comfort to viewing audiences during these challenging times.  We are proud to recognize so much excellence in this underappreciated entertainment genre.”

The Critics Choice Real TV Awards were launched in 2019 as a large-scale awards platform to give the robust (and still growing) unscripted genre critical attention and support. The awards celebrate programming across platforms, and also recognize industry leaders with special awards highlighting career achievements.

Shows are eligible for nomination if at least six (6) episodes premiered between June 1, 2021 and May 31, 2022 to at least 50% of the total potential U.S. television market. Content may be delivered to audiences by broadcast, cable, or online apps and services.

The Critics Choice Association will monitor all awards submissions and select the nominees in all competitive categories. A blue-ribbon nominating committee made up of CCA members with expertise in nonfiction, unscripted and reality programming will determine the nominees. Winners will be chosen by a vote of the CCA membership. NPACT will lead the selection of non-competitive discretionary awards.

About the Critics Choice Association (CCA) 

The Critics Choice Association is the largest critics organization in the United States and Canada, representing more than 525 media critics and entertainment journalists. It was established in 2019 with the formal merger of the Broadcast Film Critics Association and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association, recognizing the intersection between film, television, and streaming content. For more information, visit:


NPACT is the trade association for nonfiction production companies doing business in the U.S. Its members are comprised of production companies of all sizes, as well as allied services companies. NPACT serves as the voice for the nonfiction creative community, providing a forum for producers as they navigate changes in media and tackle business issues. For more information visit


Andy Gelb / Julia Rossen
[email protected] / [email protected]

Leslie Oren
[email protected]