2014 // The Critics’ Choice LOUIS XIII Genius Award

June 16, 2014 in

Jim Parsons will present the Critics’ Choice LOUIS XIII Genius Award, established to honor an icon in the television industry, to Ryan Murphy, the Emmy Award-winning creator, writer and director of FX’s Emmy-winning American Horror Story; FOX’s Screen Actors Guild and Emmy Award-winning Glee; and FX’s award-winning Nip/Tuck.

Originally a journalist writing for publications such as The Miami Herald, The Los Angeles Times, Entertainment Weekly and New York Daily News, Murphy has become one of television’s most celebrated creators.

Murphy’s latest directorial project was the HBO adaptation of Larry Kramer’s award-winning The Normal Heart, which is nominated for five CCTAs.

“From poignant reality-based movies to dark and Twisted horror to musical theater, Ryan Murphy’s creativity knows no bounds,” said Joey Berlin, BTJA President. “It is a privilege to be able to recognize the incredible talent and breadth of work that he has developed for television viewers thus far in his career, and we look forward to seeing what lies ahead.”

“LOUIS XIII is celebrated globally as an unrivaled blend of Cognac and is committed to recognizing genius talent in various creative areas,” said Augustin Depardon, Global Brand Director LOUIS XIII. “The Critics’ Choice LOUIS XIII Genius Award recognizes unbridled excellence in the television arts, and by honoring Ryan Murphy, LOUIS XIII and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association wish to honor the genius blend of television genres that make up Murphy’s body of work.”